In the Srimad-Bhagavatam and the Vishnu Puranam it is told that the nine forms of Bhakti are :

1. Sravana (hearing of God's Lilas and stories),

2. Kirtana (singing of His glories),

3. Smarana (remembrance of His name and presence),

4. Padasevana (service of His feet),

5. Archana (worship of God),

6. Vandana (prostration to Lord),

7. Dasya (cultivating the Bhava of a servant with God),

8. Sakhya (cultivation of the friend-Bhava) and

9. Atmanivedana (complete surrender of the self).

A devotee can practice any method of Bhakti which suits him best. Through that he will attain Divine illumination.

Sri Swami Sivananda

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Referring to slogans which called for war for destruction of the country and lauded terrorists who had been convicted by the highest judiciary, Jaitley questioned, "Can hate speech be called free speech?"

REASON AND RELIGION-3. "Students duty to study, and not politics; Teachers duty to teach, and not politics, Today, few teachers and students take stupid lessons from some foolish political parties and leaders, such as Communists, Congress, and stupid bunch;" Listen What Swami Vivekananda says -

The Realisation of the Absolute :3-5-1